There has been a church on this site for at least 900 years. The tower is dated 1690 and has an eight-sided steeple and unusual clock. The main building by John Paterson dates from 1795, the chancel by Alexander Hutcheson from 1900. The interior is notable for stained-glass windows by Stephen Adams, Margaret Chilton and Emma Butler-Cole Aitken, wood carving by Sir Robert Lorimer, a unique pipe organ and the remains of a medieval font. Several interesting tomb stones from 12th century are preserved in the church.
Open Wednesdays, May to August, 2-4 pm, or by arrangement:
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.