A typical harled kirk with belfry of the early 19th century, built 1812 to replace an earlier kirk of 1722 which in turn replaced Bressay’s three ancient chapels. The church boasts two beautiful stained glass windows 1895 of St Peter and St Paul. At each of the windows are memorial tablets. The church overlooks the bay and its seals.
Open by arrangement
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.