St Finnbarr's, Dornoch
Location of Church
Contact this Church
Simple but picturesque Gothic church by Alexander Ross 1912-13. The church porch was an addition to the original building in 1969. The font and the church bell came from St Mary's Church at Highfield (near Dingwall), when it closed in 1966, and the organ came from St Paul's Church, Strathnairn. Stained glass triple lancet east window by Percy Bacon. Of special note are the 70 tapestry kneelers with Highland themes created by 14 members of the congregation between 1981 and 1993. The dedication to St Finnbarr goes back to the 6th century when St Finnbarr established a monastic settlement in Dornoch. St Finnbarr's Church is also used by the local Roman Catholic congregation.
Sundays: Eucharist 11.00am. 5th Sunday varies, check with Vestry Secretary
Open April to October 10.00am-4.00pm; or by arrangement
The information about churches in Scotland's Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. The information is not authoritative; please contact us to let us know of any errors or omissions.