Chapel Royal, Falkland Palace
Directions to your Church
In the village of Falkland
Location of Church
Contact this Church
The Royal Palace of Falkland, built between 1501 and 1541 was the country residence and hunting lodge of the Stewart monarchs. The Palace was restored by the 3rd Marquess of Bute using John Kinross as his architect. The chapel in the south range dates from c1540 and was decorated in the 17th century: the ceiling with royal coats-of-arms, and the walls with Scriptural texts. The stained glass windows show heraldic badges of Scottish Kings and Queens associated with Falkland Palace. The chapel was restored by Kinross in 1896 and fitted out for Catholic worship. The altar, retable, and dais were designed by Robert Weir Schultz and were fitted in 1909. The 17th century tapestries in the tapestry gallery, and which were acquired in 1906, originally hung in the chapel. Entry to the chapel, during normal property opening times (see http://www.nts.org.uk/Property/93/), is included with the admission ticket for Falkland Palace. Entry to the chapel for Sunday mass is free of charge.
Sunday Mass 9.00 am
See NTS website for opening times
The information about churches in Scotland's Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. The information is not authoritative; please contact us to let us know of any errors or omissions.