The red sandstone church was originally built in 1900 as a consequence of the St Mary’s United Free Church expansion into Linthouse in the late 1890s. The architect was James Miller, designer of St Enoch’s, and is one of the few church buildings designed by him which is still in use.
The façade is a striking blend of classical with Arts & Crafts. A broad gable is flanked by matching square towers topped with colonnaded cupolas. The halls were added in 1953 by John S Boyd. Embroidered church falls and table frontals from 1900-1926 commissioned by the first Minister and executed by Miss Webster, a member of the congregation.
Sunday morning service:11am
There is no evening Service in this church building
Open by arrangement
The information about churches in Scotland’s Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. To contact this specific church please complete the Contact this Church form above. The information is not authoritative; please contact Scotland’s Churches Trust to let us know of any errors or omissions.